Problem with time setting

Get help with troubleshooting issues
cesare
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:26 pm

Problem with time setting

Post by cesare » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:06 am

Hello

we are experience a problem with time setting, using Remote Desktop client and Web browser, where time setting is different.

This saturday changed the time to summertime.

If accessing TSPlus server with admin user using Remote Desktop client we see one time.

If accessing TSPlus server with admin user using Web browser we see other time.

Also tried setting the time as manual, but the above differences still remain.

Please see the 2 screenshot with Time setting as Remote Desktop client, to same server and same user.

Please see the 2 screenshot with Time setting as Web browser, to same server and same user.

TSplus version is 9.50.10.9

Windows 10 version is 1607 (14393.351)

Hope for some help.

Thanks in advance.

Timing using RDC client
Timing using RDC client
Timing using RDC client
Timing using RDC client

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1621
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by admin » Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:01 pm

Hello,

Regarding the behavior of time zone with HMTL5, edit the settings.js file with notepad, this file is located in C:Program Files (x86)\TSplus\Clients\www\software\html5\settings.js

And to verify that line (= true is the default setting) W.sendTimeZone = true; //Send browsers time offset - requests activated time zone redirection with gpedit.msc on server

This will work only with HTML5 web client.

You can also verify gpedit.msc time zone rules and if the server is in a Domain, the AD GPOs on time zone redirection.
Olivier
TSplus support team administrator
Image

cesare
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:26 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by cesare » Tue Nov 01, 2016 4:57 pm

Thanks for the suggestion given, but unfortunately for us, it didn't work the changes to "settings.js" on following line:

- W.sendTimeZone = true; //Send browsers time offset - requests activated time zone redirection with gpedit.msc on server

At first setting this line was set to true.

We tried setting it to false, restarting the TsPlus web server, clearing also HTML browser cache.

Relogging again with HTML browser the time was wrong.

Instead, as informed since beginning, connecting with a RDC client time is correct.

We have to restart the server also ?

We have not done anything with "gpedit.msc time zone rules" ? Sincerely we have not understood what we have to do on it (we have done no changes, it is a simple and standard Windows 10 installation).

Can you kindly precise better what we have to do ?

It is not one annoying problem, it is for us one serious issue not having HTML browser with correct time.

Thanks again for any help.

John
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:10 am

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by John » Wed Nov 02, 2016 8:21 am

Hello,

We do not support the time zone differences, and there is not one line of code in TSplus that would change the system time.

So, what did happen is simple:
When the winter time was coming, your Windows server OR your user Windows PC time did not update its time properly.
As resoult, there time has one hour lag between the server and the PC.

So what your user see it just the fact that Windows did not update the system time somewhere.

Kind regards

John

cesare
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:26 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by cesare » Wed Nov 02, 2016 9:25 am

Thanks for your reply, but sincerely am not understanding what I have to do to fix the problem or what you are suggesting.

I try to repeat (what already told since beginning):

- server where TsPlus is installed --> time is PERFECT
- pc connecting to TsPlus --> time is PERFECT

- using Remote Desktop application connecting to same server, same user --> time is PERFECT

- using HTML5 browser connecting to same server, same user --> time is WRONG

jkuijt
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:41 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by jkuijt » Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:47 pm

Hi Cesare,

This problem only occurs on a Windows 10 system with TSplus in the HTML5 Client, which I reported in May this year to Juergen (the excellent HTML5 Client developer!) :-) and he has solved this. This is what Juergen wrote to me at that time:
Hello Jeffrey,
yes, the new version uploaded to you is supporting now own time zone names, because can not be automatized. Browsers do not reveal such information except time offset, where you can approximize which zone you use, but +1 meets for at least 4 different known locations together with Africa. I have set fixed zones from english windows by default. But unfortunatelly localized windows requests exact standard and daylight zone names as they are shown inside registry for you +1 time zone (in your case they have to be in Dutch)
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones\W. Europe Standard Time
(dlt and std)
I try to extract from registry first zone which meets +1 value and set it by default, but it is Paris, London e.t.c, not yours.
So finally i had to reinvent the wheel with forced user settings.
settings.js
"z+1": [ "West-Europa (standaardtijd)", "West-Europa (zomertijd)" ],
in W.userTimeZoneNames
So you have to set something in settings.js, look at W.userTimeZoneNames.

Best regards
Jeffrey

cesare
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:26 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by cesare » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:30 pm

Got the problem solved.

Thanks.

jkuijt
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:41 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by jkuijt » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:47 pm

Hi,

So you solved it by setting W.userTimeZoneNames ?

Best regards
Jeffrey

cesare
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:26 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by cesare » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:37 am

Hello

it was greatly solved by opening a support case.

Thanks for the help given.

Barton
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:42 pm

Re: Problem with time setting

Post by Barton » Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:54 pm

We use tsplus vers 9.5.9.10 because it suits us. But there is a problem with redirecting the time in the browser. Prompt. please, how to solve it? Thanks!

Post Reply